Siberian Cats. About the breed.
Traditional Siberian cats
Fan Club
Club of traditional Siberian Cats

rus eng
Home
• About club
• About breed
• Standards
• Articles
• Gallery
Forum
Siberian cat... what is it?
What is it in imagination of people and how does the thoroughbred Siberian look?..
Siberian cat Gagarin Sibaris
Siberian cat, age 3 years

What it in representation of people and how the thoroughbred Siberian looks?. Proud and independent, portly and beautiful, powerful and graceful, hardy and unpretentious, fast in a jump, with smooth calm movements, with a magnificent dense wool and wild appearance, wise and counterbalanced, sensitive and tender … It is all about it, about our favourite Siberian cat.

Siberians as a breed were an embodiment of those cats which throughout many last decades and centuries were observed around by the inhabitants of the Far East, Siberia, Central Asia, and of some central areas of Russia …; of those cats who were faithful immigrants’ companions, their friends and... assistants.
How often the owners of thoroughbred Siberians should hear: "Oh, I had the same cat in the childhood", "The same cat lives in our courtyard"...

Siberian cat Zaimka Beretta and girl
Girl 9 years old and the young Siberian cat (age 7 months)

On the one hand it pleases, for these statements are conclusive proofs of a natural origin of the breed... Still, we advise you attentively to look closely at thoroughbred animals to understand: so what is the difference between the real Siberian cat and that one which "lives in a courtyard"?
For the best understanding of these distinctions, you can compare the titled Siberians presented in our photo gallery and a cat from the next courtyard...

Already more than twenty years selectors-romanticists and admirers of breed are engaged in the breeding work directed on fastening the better qualities of Siberian cats and its pedigree type. As a result, a number of known catteries created pedigree lines that give stably qualitative posterity. But breeders go further, aspiring to an ideal. And ahead are new old «muzzles of the face», which are recognizable, but even more beautiful.


Phenotypic Siberian cat Nura, Belgorod region.
Phenotypic Siberian cat Nura, Belgorod region.

Certainly, considering the features of formation of the Siberian breed, and the fact that it was based on natural population, we can meet still «a cat who walks in itself», a bit similar to the Siberian … Only a bit similar. To find a he-cat or a she-cat with qualities of the excellent Siberian, without impurity of other breeds, it is extremely improbable … extremely. But nevertheless it is probable! And if you have met such miracle in territory of the CIS - do not hide it!!! It is rare good luck!!!

The Siberian cat quite fairly is considered a breed of a natural origin. It has no "artificial impurity", it has not lost natural instincts. Siberians, unlike representatives of other cat's breeds, casually having lost themselves, are able to survive and find the way home. As natural breeds should be, the Siberians are excellent hunters!!! Butterflies, bugs, grasshoppers … mice!!! – be cautious! Siberians are very clever, inquisitive, playful, sensitively catch the mood of owners, love children and perfectly get along well with other pets.

If you love animals, respect all genuine and natural... if you need a friend who understands you, which will calm and will support you in your hour of need, which will feel your pleasure and will deliver you many positive emotions, then the Siberian is your Cat!

Клуб любителей
традиционных "сибиряков"
Клуб любителей сибирских кошек
Сибирская Кошка... какая она?
Какая она в представлении людей, и как выглядит породистый Сибиряк?..
Сибирский кот Gagarin Sibaris
Сибирский кот, возраст 3 года

Гордая и самостоятельная, статная и красивая, мощная и грациозная, выносливая и неприхотливая, стремительная в броске и с плавными движениями покоя, с великолепной густой шерстью и диким внешним видом, мудрая и уравновешенная, чуткая и ласковая… Это все о ней, о нашей любимой Сибирской кошке.

Сибиряки как порода явились олицетворением тех кошек, которых на протяжении многих прошедших десятилетий и веков, видели вокруг себя жители Дальнего Востока, Сибири, Средней Азии, ряда центральных районов России… тех кошек, которые были верными спутниками переселенцев, их друзьями и... помощниками.

Как часто владельцам породистых Сибиряков приходится слышать: "Ой, у меня была такая же в детстве", "Такой же кот живет у нас во дворе"...


Сибирская кошка Zaimka Beretta и девочка 9 лет
Девочка 9 лет и молодая
сибирская кошка (возраста 7 месяцев)

И это с одной стороны радует, ибо эти высказывания являются неоспоримыми доказательствами аборигенности породы... И все же мы советуем Вам внимательно присмотреться к породистым животным и понять: так в чем же разница между Настоящей Сибирской Кошкой и той, что "живет во дворе"?

Чтобы лучше уловить эти различия, Вы можете сравнить титулованных Сибиряков, представленных в нашей фотогалерее, с котом из соседнего двора…

Уже более двадцати лет селекционеры - романтики и почитатели породы - занимаются племенной работой, направленной на закрепление лучших качеств сибирской кошки и ее породного типа. В итоге в ряде известных питомников получены породные линии, которые дают стабильно качественное потомство. Но заводчики идут дальше, стремясь к идеалу. И впереди – новые старые «морды лица», узнаваемые, но еще более прекрасные.


Фенотипичная сибирячка Нюра, Белгородская обл.
Фенотипичная сибирячка Нюра, Белгородская обл.

Конечно, учитывая особенности формирования сибирской породы, учитывая, что основывалась она на природной популяции, мы можем еще встретить «кошку, которая гуляет сама по себе», несколько похожую на Сибиряка… Но! Только немного похожую… Встретить же кота или кошку с чертами отличного сибиряка, без примесей других пород, крайне маловероятно… крайне. Но все же вероятно! И если Вы такое чудо встретили – не прячьте его!!! Это редкая удача!!!

Сибирская кошка по полному праву относится к аборигенным породам. В ней нет никаких "искусственных примесей", она не утратила природных инстинктов. Сибиряки, в отличие от представителей других кошачьих пород, случайно потерявшись, в состоянии выжить и найти дорогу домой. Как и положено аборигенам Сибиряки отличные охотники!!! Бабочки, жучки, кузнечики…мышки!!! – берегитесь! Сибиряки очень умны, любознательны, игривы, чутко улавливают настроение хозяев, любят детей и отлично уживаются с другими домашними животными.

Если Вы любите животных, уважаете все настоящее, природное, естественное, если Вам необходим друг, который Вас понимает, который успокоит и поддержит в трудную минуту, который разделит Вашу радость и доставит Вам массу положительных эмоций, то Сибиряк – это Ваш Кот!